Static GalleryBloomberg New Contemporaries 2002

Bloomberg New Contemporaries 2002 was launched at the independent artist-run space, STATIC. New Contemporaries is the annual exhibition of work by students and recent graduates from fine art colleges throughout the UK. First established in 1949, New Contemporaries is recognised for supporting new work and generating critical debate in the visual arts and for providing valuable support for artists at the start of their professional career. By its very nature, the exhibition is always fresh, lively and experimental. This year’s selectors, artists Graham Gussin, Sarah Lucas and filmmaker Patrick Keiller carefully considered the 1200 applications received from art schools across the UK during a two-stage process. The 35 artists selected for Bloomberg New Contemporaries 2002 were: Helen Barron, Kiera Bennett, Niall Blankley, Balint Bolygo, Charlotte Brisland, Kieran Brown, Carol Burtt, Mathieu Copeland, Ruth Ewan, Anna Fasshauer, Jachym Fleig, Babak Ghazi, Rob Grose, Lesley Halliwell, Tom Hanbury & Miero Koizumi, Isaac Layish & Irit Garty, Darren Marshall, Ben Mayman, Helen McCrorie, Lucinda Metcalfe, Matt O’Dell, Raul Ortega, Andrew Palmer, Edd Pearman, Samuel Porritt, Nathaniel Rackowe, Hiraki Sawa, Yak Beow Seah, Daniel Sinsel, John Spiteri, Eva Stenram, John Summers and Angus Wyatt.


23 Roscoe Lane
L1 9JD